InterviewUnicorn PitchInterview: Unicorn Pitch Winner Frederik Dürr, mySHOEFITTER

17. April 2021Hanns Tappen1

Im Gespräch mit Frederik Dürr

- Das Interview wurde von Hanns Tappen geführt

Nach dem Pitch ist vor dem Pitch. So, oder ähnlich kann man es in Anlehnung an Sportwettbewerben beschreiben, wenn man als Startup bei dem StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch gewinnt. Schließlich qualifiziert ein Sieg in der Serie dafür an dem Unicorn Grand-Prix teilzunehmen. Wir wollen heute die Gelegenheit nutzen mit dem Gewinner der März-Session ein kurzes Interview zu führen. Am 3. März konnte sich Frederik Dürr, CMO von mySHOEFITTER, gegen seine Mitbewerber durchsetzen. Am Ende des 90. Gründerstammtisches war er der Sieger des Unicorn Pitch und nahm die Trophäe von Düsseldorf mit nach Hamm. Der Gründerstammtisch fand natürlich online statt und somit wurden auch die Pitches online absolviert. Auch diesmal entschied das Publikum, sodass der Unicorn Pitch ein echter Publikumspreis ist.

 

MyShoefitter Product and People

Hallo Frederik, Du hast für euer Startup im März am StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch teilgenommen und gewonnen. Anscheinend kein schlechter Rat von mir an diesem Pitch Wettbewerb teilzunehmen, oder? Wie fühlst Du Dich jetzt nach dieser Zeit?

Hey Hanns! Yes, ich bin immer noch total erschöpft von diesem epischen Battle… :)

Total erschöpft? Diesen Eindruck hinterlässt Du gerade aber nicht auf mich! Spaßvogel 🙂 Erzähl mal bitte denen, die nicht Deinen Pitch miterleben konnten in drei, vier Sätzen: Wer bist du und was macht ihr?

Also: ich bin Frederik, Mitgründer und CMO bei mySHOEFITTER. Mein Team und ich sind gerade dabei den eCommerce-Markt für Schuhe für immer disruptiv zu verändern! Wir haben in enger Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer FIT eine Technologie entwickelt, mit der wir über Smartphones und Tablets Füße millimetergenau vermessen können – mit dem Ziel, dass Kunden von Online-Shops immer die perfekt passenden Schuhe bestellen können! Wir haben also den Retouren und den damit verbundenen Kosten und Umweltverschmutzungen den Kampf angesagt, den wir schon sehr bald gewinnen werden!

Tolles Thema und Mission, die auch unser Publikum überzeugt hat. Mit dem Gewinn des Unicorns im März hast du dich für die Teilnahme am Unicorn Pitch Grand-Prix im Februar 2022 qualifiziert. Bis dahin ist ja noch ein wenig Zeit. Angenommen, es wäre schon Februar 2022, welche Neuigkeiten oder Erfolgsgeschichten würdest du am liebsten in den Pitch einbauen?

Da wir erst in kurzer Zeit mit unserem MVP „live“ gehen, wären die Erfolgsnachrichten dann nächstes Jahr: „mySHOEFITTER hat bewiesen, dass Retouren auf einfache Art und Weise und vor allem zuverlässig verhindert werden können.“ / „mySHOEFITTER-Technologie ist soweit ausgereift, dass das Unternehmen skalieren und internationalisieren kann!“ / Und vor allem würde mich freuen „durch mySHOEFITTER wurden bereits 1.000.000kg CO2-Emissionen verhindert“! 🚀

Spannend. Mit eurem Kooperationspartner, dem Fraunhofer FIT ist diese Entwicklung sicher möglich. Wir drücken die Daumen. Im Februar heißt es dann wieder im Wettbewerb pitchen, worauf kommt es dort Deiner Meinung an? Anders gefragt: Was wären Deine Tipps an Gründer:innen, die noch nie gepitcht haben - worauf sollten sie achten?

Langweilt den Investor oder die Audience nicht mit technischen Folien oder mit Aussagen, wie toll ihr seid. Vor allem solltet ihr eine Story erzählen und in Zahlen darlegen, was für ein Impact euer Produkt hat/haben kann.

Ich komme nicht darum herum. Covid-19. Online / Offline, was hat sich aus Deiner Sicht aufgrund der Pandemie im Startup-Ökosystem, in dem Du zuhause bist geändert?

Bei uns hat sich eigentlich nicht viel verändert. Wir haben bereits vorher viel im Homeoffice gearbeitet und COVID hat uns in keiner Weise negativ getroffen. Im Gegenteil: durch COVID steigen die eCommerce-Zahlen rasant an, was uns natürlich noch mehr motiviert. Was uns aber ziemlich nervt ist, dass es überhaupt keine physischen Zusammentreffen mehr gibt. Man trifft seine Partner nicht mehr, es gibt keine Messen und Events mehr zum Netzwerken und auch der Kundenkontakt ist ausschließlich online. Das Zwischenmenschliche fehlt uns schon ganz schön – und wir freuen uns darauf, dass wir hoffentlich schon bald wieder offline die Menschen treffen.

Diese Punkte kann ich nachvollziehen. Gilt für so viele von uns. Lass uns mal die Problematik auf das Startup Ökosystem übertragen. Hast Du konkret Auswirkungen von Covid-19 in der Startup-Event Landschaft u.a. auf Pitch-Events feststellen können?

Klar, die ganzen Events sind leider nur noch online. Das Problem ist, das neben dem Pitchen das ganze Drumherum fehlt: ein richtiger persönlicher Austausch ist online leider irgendwie nicht richtig möglich oder auch den Gründerspirit kriegt man teilweise gar nicht richtig „übertragen“. Deswegen finde ich übrigens eure Events auf MixUp.world ziemlich cool, da so das ganze digitale Netzwerken wieder ein wenig mehr Spaß macht 🙂

Vielen Dank. Ja wir sind auch froh, dass unsere Online Events etwas mehr Spaß machen, als das gewöhnliche Streaming. MixUp.world bietet für unsere Zwecke einiges – übrigens ein Startup aus Düsseldorf ;-). Das bringt mich zur letzten Frage. Jetzt hat euer Startup seinen Sitz in Hamm. Wie nimmst Du von außerhalb das Düsseldorfer, bzw. das Startup-Ökosystem unserer Region wahr?

Da ich in Düsseldorf wohne, bin ich sogar ziemlich nah an dem ganzen Geschehen dran! Was ich auf jeden Fall super finde ist, dass sich das Rhein-Ruhr-Gebiet langsam zu einem echten „Silicon NRW“ mit fantastischen Gründern und Ideen entwickelt. Das Potenzial in unserer Region ist immens und ich bin mir sicher, dass sich das zurzeit ganz schön rumspricht.

Das kann ich bestätigen - es spricht sich rum. Die Region ist nach wie vor eine der spannendsten Wirtschaftsregionen in Deutschland und öffnet sich mehr und mehr den Bedürfnissen von Gründer:innen - ist also auf einem guten Weg. Allerdings gibt es noch einiges zu tun.

Lieber Frederik, vielen Dank für das Gespräch. Wir vom StartupDorf wünschen euch viel Erfolg mit mySHOEFITTER. Wir freuen uns auch auf ein Wiedersehen im StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch Grand-Prix. Wir beide sprechen uns so wie so im Zuge des Gründerstipendiums in den nächsten Monaten noch das eine oder andere Mal.


 

Konnten wir dein Interesse für den Unicorn Pitch wecken?

Möchtest du selbst am StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch teilnehmen?

Mehr Informationen findest Du über den Pitch und das Bewerbungsformular im Link. Mehr kannst du im Artikel nachlesen "Alles was du über den Unicorn Pitch wissen solltest“.

Die nächsten Termine lauten:

  • 7. Juli
  • 4. August
  • 3. November
  • 1. Dezember

Hanns Tappen

Hanns Tappen ist Initiator und Gründungsvorsitzender von StartupDorf e.V. Er berät mit betawerke.de an den Schnittstellen von Startups mit Corporates und baut Produkte für das Startup Ökosystem. Daneben ist er seit mehr als 10 Jahren Mentor, Coach, Angeladvisor für Gründer*innen und Startups. Als Startup Evangelist ist Hanns in verschiedenen Gremien, Initiativen und Startup Programmen sowie Jury’s aktiv.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Suche

Adresse

StartupDorf e.V.
Rather Str. 25
40472 Düsseldorf

contact@startupdorf.de
+49 (211) 176 072 93
(Anrufbeantworter)

Back to Bello home

Copyright StartupDorf. All rights reserved.
Made with love in Düsseldorf.

Back to Bello home

Copyright StartupDorf. All rights reserved. Made with love in Düsseldorf.

Login

Register

Your personal data will be used to support your experience throughout this website, to manage access to your account, and for other purposes described in our Datenschutzerklärung.

Already have account?

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

de_DEGerman

InterviewUnicorn PitchInterview: Unicorn Pitch Winner Frederik Dürr, mySHOEFITTER

17. April 2021Hanns Tappen1

In conversation with Frederik Dürr

– The interview was conducted by Hanns Tappen

After the pitch is before the pitch. This, or similar, is how you can describe it in reference to sports competitions when you win as a startup at the StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch. After all, winning the series qualifies you to participate in the Unicorn Grand Prix next year. Today we want to take the opportunity to have a short interview with the winner of the March session. On March 3, Frederik Dürr, CMO of mySHOEFITTER was able to prevail against his competitors. At the end of the 90th Gründerstammtisch he was the winner of the Unicorn Pitch and took the Trophy from Düsseldorf to Hamm. Of course, the Gründerstammtisch (Founders’ Roundtable) took place online and therefore the pitches were also completed online. Once again, the audience decided, making the Unicorn Pitch a true audience award.

 

MyShoefitter Product and People

Hey Frederik, you participated in the StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch for your startup in March and won. Apparently not a bad advice from my side to participate in this pitch contest, right? How do you feel now after a couple of weeks?

Hey Hanns! Yes, I still totally exhausted from this epic battle... :)

Totally exhausted? But you don’t leave this impression on me right now! Joker 🙂 Please tell those who couldn’t witness your pitch in three or four sentences: Who are you and what do you do?

So: I'm Frederik, co-founder and CMO at mySHOEFITTER. My team and I are about to disruptively change the eCommerce market for shoes forever! In close cooperation with Fraunhofer FIT, we have developed a technology that allows us to measure feet with millimeter precision via smartphones and tablets - with the aim of ensuring that customers of online stores can always order the perfectly fitting shoes! So we have declared a battle against returns and the associated costs and environmental pollution, which we will win very soon!

Great theme and mission, which also convinced our audience. By winning the Unicorn in March you have qualified for the Unicorn Pitch Grand-Prix participation in February 2022. There is still a little time until then. Assuming it would already be February 2022, what news or success stories would you most like to include in the pitch?

As we are very close to going "live" with our MVP, the success news would then be next year: "mySHOEFITTER has proven that returns can be prevented in a simple way and, above all, reliably." / "mySHOEFITTER technology has matured to the point where the company can scale and internationalize!" / And most importantly, I would be happy to see "mySHOEFITTER has already prevented 1,000,000kg of CO2 emissions"! 🚀

Exciting. This development is certainly possible with your cooperation partner, Fraunhofer FIT. We’re keeping our fingers crossed. In February, it’s back to pitching in the competition. What do you think is important? In other words, what would be your tips for founders who have never pitched before – what should they pay attention to?

Don't bore the investor or audience with technical slides or statements about how great you are. Above all, you should tell a story and explain in figures what kind of impact your product has/has the potential to have.

I’m afraid I have to address the issue Covid-19. Online / offline, from your point of view, what has changed due to the pandemic in the startup ecosystem in which you are at home?

Actually, there hasn't been much of a change for us. We already worked a lot in the home office before and COVID has not affected us negatively in any way. On the contrary: thanks to COVID, eCommerce figures are increasing rapidly, which of course motivates us even more. But what really annoys us is that there are no more physical meetings at all. You stop meeting your partners, there are no more trade fairs and events for networking, and customer contact is exclusively online. We really miss the interpersonal aspect - and we're looking forward to hopefully meeting people offline again soon.

I certainly can agree with these points. Applies to so many of us. Let’s take this issue to the startup ecosystem. Have you seen any concrete impact of Covid-19 in the startup event landscape at pitch events, among others?

Of course, all the events are unfortunately only online. The problem is that apart from pitching, the whole shebang is missing: a real personal exchange is unfortunately somehow not really possible online or even the founder spirit is sometimes not really "transferred". That's why I think your events on MixUp.world are pretty cool, by the way, because it makes digital networking a little more fun again.

Thank you very much. Yes, we are also glad that our online events are a bit more fun than the usual streaming. MixUp.world offers a lot for our purposes – by the way they are a startup from Düsseldorf ;-). Which brings me to the last question. Your startup is based in Hamm, Westphalia. How do you perceive the Düsseldorf, respectively how do you perceive the startup ecosystem of our region from outside?

Living in Düsseldorf, I'm actually pretty close to all the action! What I definitely like is that the Rhine-Ruhr region is slowly turning into a real "Silicon NRW" with fantastic founders and ideas. The potential in our region is immense and I'm sure that the buzz is getting around pretty well at the moment.

I can confirm that – word gets around. The region is still one of the most exciting economic regions in Germany and is opening up more and more to the needs of start-ups – so it’s on the right track. However, there is still a lot to do.

Dear Frederik, thank you very much for the interview. We at StartupDorf wish you much success with mySHOEFITTER. We also look forward to seeing you again at the StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch Grand-Prix. We’ll be talking to each other a few times in the next few months in the context of the Gründerstipendium.


 

Were we able to arouse your interest in the Unicorn Pitch?

Would you like to participate in the StartupDorf Unicorn Pitch yourself?

You can find more information about the pitch and the application form via the following link. You can read more in the article “Everything you should know about the Unicorn Pitch“.

The next dates in 2021 are:

  • July 7
  • August 4
  • November 3
  • December 1

Hanns Tappen

Hanns Tappen is the initiator and founding chairman of StartupDorf e.V. With betawerke.de, he advises at the intersection of startups with corporates and builds products for the startup ecosystem. In addition, he has been a mentor, coach, angeladvisor for founders* and startups for more than 10 years. As a startup evangelist Hanns is active in various boards, initiatives and startup programs as well as jury's.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Search

Address

StartupDorf e.V.
Rather Str. 25
40472 Düsseldorf

contact@startupdorf.de
+49 (211) 176 072 93
(answering machine)

Back to Bello home

Copyright StartupDorf. All rights reserved.
Made with love in Düsseldorf.

Back to Bello home

Copyright StartupDorf. All rights reserved. Made with love in Düsseldorf.

Login

Register

Your personal data will be used to support your experience throughout this website, to manage access to your account, and for other purposes described in our privacy policy.

Already have account?

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

en_USEnglish